A wordpress client to post and update blogs from command line

There is a fascinating python library which uses xmlrpc to communicate with WordPress. Unfortunately it does not support http_proxies yet but he has promised to support it in next release. Till then, one can set-up transparent proxies [See my repository on how to set-up transparent proxies inside IIT Bombay].

Benefits? Nothing unless you are a command like junkie like me. I am editing this post in vim editor and using github to maintain my blogs. When I am satisfied, I’ll update it or create a new post. I can also tags and category to post. And I have all the power of html and vim. Ha ha! With so much power, I’ll bring this world down at its knees.

Till today Sat 23 Mar 2013, I can not send an image with post from terminal. I’ll add this feature in near-future.

This script is available here. If you plan to update it, let me know. There is another script in the same repo blogger.py which does the same stuff with blogspot. I no longer use blogspot therefore I’d not be updating that script.

About Dilawar

Graduate Student at National Center for Biological Sciences, Bangalore.
This entry was posted in NoGuiNoMouseNoProblem, Python, Scripts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.